Skip to main content

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: restaurant
(83 results)



Display: 20

    • Clock Restaurant, 1985

    • Restaurants; Middletown (Ohio)
    • "Where Pizza Began in Middletown." The Clock Restaurant was the first restaurant here to serve pizza. It was operated by Victor Slezak and his wife, Ann, who continued to operate the business after Victor's death, and was located on Tytus Avenue....
    • Moon River Organ

    • Art; Organs; Music; Restaurants; Butler County (Ohio)
    • This is a four manual Wurlitzer theater pipe organ. It was designed by Pat Gillick for WLW, the "nation's station" in 1925. It became the organ on which Cincinnati's popular "MoonRiver" radio program was played. The WLW organ was acquired in 1968...
    • Football Coaches Get Together, 1960

    • Negatives; Football; Schools; Restaurants; Middletown (Ohio)
    • In 1960, Middletown High School football coaches had a get together at the Colony Restaurant, 16 North Main Street. The 1961 Optimist lists the following as the coaching staff: Elmo Lingrel, athletic director; Glenn "Tiger" Ellison, head coach; Ed...
    • Central Avenue, West from Broad, South Side, c. 1938

    • Business districts; Drugstores; Middletown (Ohio)
    • John T. Fay entered the druggist business about 1888. Sometime around 1905 he opened his own drugstore on Third Street (Central Avenue). "Middletown In Black and White" (1906) states that he was a "very capable young man and deals strictly on the...
    • Downtown Middletown, c. 1940

    • Business districts; Storefronts; Middletown (Ohio)
    • Starting from the right along the north side of Central Avenue in c. 1940 stood the following businesses: Rathman-Lewis Drugs, Rathman-Troup Furniture, Spencer Jewelry, Trappas OK Barber Shop, Ritter Brothers leather goods, C.E. Greathouse and Son...
    • Looking South on Main Street, 1949

    • Negatives; Streets; Business districts; Middletown (Ohio)
    • The photographer took this photograph looking south on Main Street from close to Manchester Avenue. On the left at the corner of Central Avenue is the Middletown Federal Savings and Loan Building. On down the street on the left side is Sears,...
    • Drive In Restaurant, c. 1960

    • real estate; Middletown (Ohio); business enterprises
    • Realtor Sol A. Finkelman had this property at 2711 South Main Street listed for sale as the Crest Haven Drive In. The 'Multiple Selling Service" form said this was a going drive in restaurant business that grossed between $6,000 and $7,000 per...
    • D D Barber Shop and Coney Island Restaurant, c. 1918

    • Business enterprises; Middletown (Ohio)
    • The William Sebald home was located on this site that eventually became the DD Barber Shop and the Coney Island Restaurant. They were well known for their "Hot Weiners" that were prepared like the ones at New York's Coney Island. In 1919...
    • Old Warehouse Restaurant, c.  1975

    • Canals; Restaurants; Ohio
    • Roscoe Village was located on the Ohio-Erie Canal. It was the fourth largest storage site and shipper of wheat in Ohio during the canal days. Boats docked at the rear of this warehouse to load and unload shipments. At this point the canal is gone...
    • 23 South Canal Street

    • real estate; Middletown (Ohio); dwellings; apartments; business enterprises
    • The glazier John Rader had his business in the right side of this building. He advertised "Glass Work of All Kinds Expertly and Efficiently Done." His address was 23 South Canal Street. Mrs. Anna J. Taylor operated a restaurant at 19 South Canal,...
    • The Jug, August 1948

    • Business enterprises; Middletown (Ohio)
    • Serving their first hamburger in May of 1932, The Jug drive-in restaurant was originally located on South Main Street on the edge of Barnitz Field. In August 1948 it moved to the corner of Highview Road and Central Avenue where it remained for...
    • Mary's Restaurant, 1969

    • Slides; Restaurants; Middletown (Ohio)
    • Mary's Restaurant was located at 2715 Burbank Avenue in the section of the city known as Mayfield. It was operated by Brentz W. And Mary Turner. Next to it was Turner's Carry Out.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK